Woolworths SA

Founded in Cape Town in 1931, Woolworths SA is South Africa’s largest retailer with more than 700 store locations throughout South Africa and 10 other African countries. The retailer also has a multichannel focus, with an online presence across its major brands.

Woolworths SA has three major operating divisions: its Woolworths grocery store division, which operates solely in Africa; David Jones department stores (based and trading in Australia and New Zealand); and Country Road Group, which is based in Australia and trades in Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Affectionately known as Woolies, the company aims to offer its customers a strong quality and value proposition.


Latest news and insight on Woolworths SA from Retail-Week.com