Sir Ken bows to pressure as three non-executives are appointed
Morrisons deputy chairman David Jones emerged victorious in his battle with Sir Ken Morrison last night, after winning the right to appoint three of four non-executive directors to the grocer's board.

The company released news of the appointments after the market closed, revealing the new board members as Susan Murray, chief executive of the Advertising Standards Authority; Nigel Robertson, who played a key role in establishing online grocery web site Ocado; and Brian Flanagan, who worked at Mars for 26 years. The positions take effect from July 1.

Although there was speculation that Sir Ken blocked the appointment of Murray and Robertson at a board meeting last month, the Morrisons boss said last night he was happy with the new additions. 'We committed ourselves to appointing new directors and I do rate these candidates very highly,' he said. 'Contrary to popular belief, I am quite easy to get on with.'

The board also confirmed that Richard Pennycook will join as group finance director on October 1. A Morrisons statement said the chairman and deputy chairman 'will together be interviewing further candidates for non-executive directorships and it is anticipated that a further announcement will be made within the next four weeks'.

Once the appointments have been made, headhunter Hanson Green will begin the search for a chief executive to replace Bob Stott.