Retail Week exclusive: Department stores enjoy positive results in IMRG’s quarterly ranking of the top 50 retailers by website traffic.  

Top 50 online retailers

Debenhams, House of Fraser, John Lewis and Marks & Spencer all rose slightly in the rankings compared with September last year.

There was no change at the top with Amazon UK, Apple, Argos and Tesco taking the top four places across all devices (including the smartphone and tablet rankings) during September. Three other brands also featured in the top 10 rankings for both smartphones and tablets – Netflix, Asda and Boots

RankBrandURL2015 rankMovement
1 Amazon UK www.amazon.co.uk 1
2 Apple www.apple.com   2
3 Argos www.argos.co.uk 3
4 Tesco www.tesco.com 4
5 Netflix www.netflix.com 7
6 Asda www.asda.com 5
7 Marks & Spencer www.marksandspencer.com 9
8 EE www.ee.co.uk 6
9 Boots www.boots.com 8
10 Next www.next.co.uk   10
11 The Train Line www.thetrainline.com 11
12 John Lewis www.johnlewis.com 14
13 O2 www.o2.co.uk 12
14 Currys www.currys.co.uk 13
15 Very www.very.co.uk 15
16 Debenhams www.debenhams.com 17
17 Three www.three.co.uk 20
18 Sainsbury’s www.Sainsburys.co.uk 24
19 Asos www.asos.com 19
20 B&Q www.diy.com 16
21 Thomson www.thomson.co.uk 26
22 Vodafone www.vodafone.co.uk 21
23 National Rail www.nationalrail.co.uk 23
24 Sports Direct www.sportsdirect.com 18
25 IKEA www.ikea.com 27
26 Screwfix www.screwfix.com 33
27 New Look www.newlook.com 29
28 Ticketmaster UK www.ticketmaster.co.uk 28
29 EasyJet.com www.easyjet.com 22
30 Expedia www.expedia.co.uk 39
31 Homebase www.homebase.co.uk 30
32 British Airways www.britishairways.com 25
33 Domino’s Pizza www.dominos.co.uk 64
34 House of Fraser www.houseoffraser.co.uk 36
35 PC World www.pcworld.co.uk 35
36 Superdrug www.superdrug.com 59
37 Carphone Warehouse www.carphonewarehouse.com 34
38 Hotels.com www.hotels.com 57
39 Littlewoods www.littlewoods.com 40
40 Hewlett Packard www.hp.com 31
41 Ryanair www.ryanair.com 32
42 Aldi www.aldi.co.uk 52
43 Game www.game.co.uk 38
44 Matalan www.matalan.co.uk 43
45 River Island www.riverisland.com 62
46 Thomas Cook www.thomascook.com 44
47 Wilko www.wilko.com 48
48 Wickes www.wickes.co.uk 54
49 Halfords www.halfords.com 58
50 Premier Inn www.premierinn.com 53

Top 50 retailer ranking, by smartphone and tablet traffic

RankSmartphoneTablet
1 Amazon UK Amazon UK
2 Apple Apple
3 Argos Argos
4 Tesco Tesco
5 EE Netflix
6 Asda Marks & Spencer
7 Netflix Asda
8 Boots Boots
9 O2 Very
10 Three John Lewis
11 The Train Line Sainsbury’s
12 Marks & Spencer Debenhams
13 Very Virgin Atlantic
14 Vodafone Next
15 Sainsbury’s Thomson
16 Next Disneyland Paris
17 Currys The Train Line
18 Debenhams Currys
19 John Lewis First Choice
20 Sports Direct B&Q
21 Ticketmaster UK River Island
22 ASOS PC World
23 B&Q ASOS
24 New Look O2
25 Domino’s Pizza Littlewoods
26 National Rail EE
27 Ikea Homebase
28 Aldi Sports Direct
29 Superdrug Wilko
30 Fitbit Waitrose
31 Carphone Warehouse British Airways
32 Screwfix Ticketmaster UK
33 Odeon Carphone Warehouse
34 Thomson Ikea
35 Littlewoods Dunelm
36 Game Aldi
37 Smyths Toys Matalan
38 Homebase House of Fraser
39 Matalan Screwfix
40 PC World Vodafone
41 Cineworld Dominos Pizza
42 Expedia KLM
43 Bodybuilding.com Expedia
44 EasyJet.com Game
45 Wilko Secret Escapes
46 JD Sports New Look
47 Boohoo Superdrug
48 M and M Direct Three
49 Toys R Us Not On The High Street
50 Hotels.com EasyJet.com

The IMRG comScore Top 50 Retailer Ranking is published quarterly and measures digital audiences based on comScore MMX Multi-platform data of those selling goods and services within the IMRG Capgemini Index Classification*. Source: comScore MMX Multi-platform, Custom Ranking based on Total Unique Visitors/Viewers, Desktop and Mobile in September 2016, UK. The IMRG comScore Retailer Ranking list excludes eBay, marketplace and price comparison / aggregator websites. *IMRG Capgemini Index Classification: Beer / wine / spirits; Books; CDs / tapes / records; Clothing / footwear / accessories; Computer hardware / peripherals / consumables; Consumer electronics; Digital downloads (e.g. music, software); Flowers; Food, beverages and household supplies; Furniture; Garden / DIY; Health and beauty; Home appliances (e.g. washing machines); Household goods (e.g. kitchenware, bedding); Jewellery / watches; Software; Sporting goods; Tickets (e.g. cinema, theatre, events); Toys; Travel (e.g. flights, holidays, hotels, car hire); Video games; Videos / DVDs. For more information, visit the IMRG site.